How Far Will Love Travel?


One of my absolute favorite songs is from Sarah Bareilles called, Many the Miles. She takes such an awesome perspective on many of her songs, but this one has special meaning to me. I have 6 kids…I’ll give you a moment to let that sink in. Yes 6! I have personally birthed 4 and I have 2 step children. Two of my kids are full-grown…more time for you to take that in. OK so, full grown. When they were growing, I prided myself on being a mother! I loved it. Probably more than anything! I laughed, cried, scolded and learned sometimes all at the same time with those two wonderful blessings! I was simply amazed at their own unique persons even at such young ages. When they were 12 & 10 I got divorced. All Hell broke loose within my life. These two most wonderful creatures who were simply on a path that every suburban parent would be envious of, slipped through my fingers and I felt I was completely helpless to stop it! The two most wonderful things in my life got hurt and torn by stupid, meaningless, unnecessary turmoil. They hid-of course. I mean emotionally you know. The friends that they had, no longer accepted them because a “single-mom home” was unstable and a “bad influence” Our 6 figure income of cars and sports and gap galore changed to good will and food stamps! They didn’t know how to handle it and quite frankly, I was trying desperately to learn myself. EVERYTHING changed.

Now, 9 years later, I learned how to love deeper-myself and others around me no matter who they are or what they are going through! I learned that is exactly how God loves me! I mean, I really mess things up sometimes! I’m direct and hurt feelings. I say I’m going to do something and forget (this one is too common!), I’m selfish and point my finger telling someone how I think they should live! What is all that? God Doesn’t do that to me. He loves me exactly where I am at-no matter what! When my kids hid…the good news was and is, they could never hide from God’s love. I’ve learned there is nothing that is too far or too deep for God. He knows all and will come to us and love us through it all! If I’m to be like Him, then I need to do the same for other people right here on Earth right now! I don’t live my life for them-not even my kids (I’ll that one sink in ladies…), but I do love others the way I am loved by True Love Himself!

And…Like Sarah Bareilles’ song says “How Far Do I Have to go to Get To You? Send me the miles and I’ll be happy to” When I hear this song, I think of those two beautiful kids of mine! Now almost 21 and 18, they are still picking up the pieces and I love them through to the best of my ability-all with the love of Christ within me (left to myself, I’d get mad at them for screwing it up!)(and then they’d come back at me and say it’s all my fault anyway! No good can come from that! That is wasted energy. Nope-God’s right, it’s better to love)

Listen to the words to this beautiful song:

If we could apply even just a little bit of this towards others daily, we’d be so much better off and so would everyone we come into contact with. Think about it…

~Pamela

Leave a Reply

