Salmon and Black Bean Salsa Wrap


Sometimes, I just want to make it easy.  I guess that’s why I like a sandwich so much.  To cut out carbs, I’ve switched in my routine from bread to whole wheat and high fiber wraps.  Somehow it just feels like less!  I know it is, but I can eat more of the good stuff and not get filled up on the carbs.  As with almost any of my sandwiches, you can quickly turn these into salads.  To make them less fat and calories, just simply take away the cheese.  Just remember, it’s all about portions!!! Believe it or not, you need to eat many times a day!  We are so used to breakfast, lunch, and dinner but in reality, the Hobbits have it more on the correct side: Breakfast, late breakfast, lunch, lunch #2, early dinner, later Dinner…  You get the idea.  We need to eat 5-7 times a day!  However our “Meals” need to be satisfying instead of filling.  Our bodies go into a coma when we are full.  Our energy is spent on digestion instead of being able to go and do…whatever you need to do.  If in doubt about this, just think of Thanksgiving!  I about pass out!  (Some holidays I simply indulge! 🙂 )

A meal can consist for me an apple and a 1/4 cup almonds.   Or a small wrap with veggies and a little meat (usually fish) like this one!  Don’t be afraid to cut it in half and eat the other half an hour later!  Here it is:

  • 1 Small Whole Wheat Wrap
  • 4oz Broiled Salmon (w/ garlic, sea salt & pepper-left overs )
  • 1oz of Pepper Jack Cheese (I know I love this stuff!)
  • 1/2 cup Spinach
  • 1 T Black Bean Salsa
  • 3-4 Slices Onion
  • 3-4 Slices Red Pepper
  • Sprinkle Cyan Pepper (Optional)

Yum!! I loved this one!  The Black Bean and Pepper Jack gave it just the right kick! You can add the cyan pepper too if you like it hot.  Cyan pepper boost your metabolism and helps in losing weight!  Keep in mind that Salmon does have fats, but they are healthy for you!  Our bodies need fat for our skin to keep smooth and soft and need I say…wrinkle free!!  When we are choosing our fats, they need to be from natural sources and limited.  Salmon is chock-full of the Omega’s that we hear so much about!  Enjoy guilt free.  Again, if you are worried about fats or calories…take away the cheese!  Or just use less.

~Pamela

Leave a Reply

