What’s Still Right With Us?


My daughter ran up to me looking at an old picture of me.  She thought it was so beautiful.  She went on and on about my hair and how young I looked.  All I could see was my clothes and how disheveled I was.  I remembered exactly where I was at and how I was living on nothing with two kids.  She saw some cool tye-dyed clothes and I saw hand-me-downs.  She saw my ‘pretty glasses” I saw that they were broken a few times and I couldn’t afford new ones.  I could even go right back there emotionally with the memories of being a young Mom so far away from home putting my new husband through school.

Too many times when we look at ourselves, we look so closely that we see every fault and pore…others see the whole picture.  We see minute details like the double chin we’ve never liked or the feet that are two different sizes.  We see “too much” or really too closely.

‘Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,” Romans 8:1

Read it again.

When we look at ourselves, we see what’s wrong with us.  Here’s the great news!!

When God looks at us, He sees what’s still right with us!  He loves us and knows our potential better than anyone does!  He sees the plans that He’s made for us!  He sees the progress we’ve made!  He see’s the giving we’ve done!  He see’s our hearts seeking after Him!  He sees all of our beauty!

Never doubt this! God loves who you are! He may not always love what you’ve done…that’s why we need forgiveness, but make no mistake about it-God loves WHO you are!  He knows the difference between the two.

So the next time you look into the mirror…ask for your “Father’s Eyes” -try to see yourself through Him…You are beautiful-inside and out!

~Pamela

My Father’s Eyes by Amy Grant…oldie but the words are still true!

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/OmMO6wsQCMs?rel=0&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Leave a Reply

