A Day in the Life…Working Toward a Competition


Pamela DeVrou Smith 12wks out From 1st Competition

Monday:

Up at 6:30am

Drink a 12oz Chocolate Whey Isolate (w/ BCAA’s) Protein Shake

Kids up/dressed/fed/kissed/hugged and off to school

8am: Hubby makes breakfast:

  • 3 whole eggs & 2 egg whites mixed with a cup of chopped spinach Salt & Pepper & *Cayenne Pepper to taste (cooked w/ olive oil pan spray and a great non-stick pan!)
  • 1/4c Home made Salsa
  • Kiwi and 1/2 an Apple
  • 1/2 Chicken Sausage

*Cayenne Pepper helps boost the metabolism (increase the burn and increase fat loss!!)

Scrambled Eggs, Chicken Sausage and Mixed Fruit

9am:  Go to work

Work from home!! So I make my own schedule unless I’m training someone else-which I love to do!!  I write, promote, public speak, and talk with others online!!  I love it!!)

11am:  Snack

  • 1/4 c Almonds
  • Glass of water
  • Apple

1pm:  Off to the Gym

Before I go I drink a pre-work out drink.  We’ve tried a few different ones.  Because I am at the gym so long, I find that I do really enjoy having these!! I lift more and for a longer period of time.  I get mentally and physically pumped when I have one.  I never had any of these before and I’ve worked out for years at high levels.  Although, now I’ve tried them, I like how much I can do with them!  At this point and at the level that I am at, I love these things and look forward to drinking them before I go…wait…not totally true.  Most of them that I have tried taste simply AWFUL!!  So…drink them fast!  Hahaha…

I also ate 1/2 of a Natural Peanut Butter and Fruit Spread Sandwich on 12 grain bread and drank a glass of water.

Here’s work out #1:

Flat bench DB Flyes Pamela DeVrou Smith
  • Bench Press: 3x12x65; 4x3x135; 2x12x115; 2x12x85; 2x12x65
  • Circuit: 4 sets x 12
  • Preacher curls = 50#
  • Tricep Dips = Feet on bench/Hands on bench added 15#
  • Balanced Sitting V crunches = 50
  • Circuit: 4 x 12
  • Tri cep rope pull downs = 25#
  • Chest pull downs = 90#
  • Incline Press = 70# 3×8
  • Circuit: 4×12
  • flat bench DB flyes = 20#
  • Tri-cep extension = 15#

3pm Drink a Protein Drink:

Must do this within 20min of work out….Always!!  Optimal time!!

4pm:  Food!!! I’m Starving!! Spinach Salad w/ Tuna

  • 1/2 cup Tuna Fish
  • 2 cups Spinach
  • sliced Red Onions
  • Sliced Yellow Peppers
  • Balsamic Vinegar and Olive Oil*

Kids come home

Snack time for kids!

Kiss & Hug the kids

Homework time

Mom work some more time

6:30pm Eat Eat Eat!!

Hubby’s on it Again…Tonight is Home Made Pizza!!

Flat Out Black Bean Salsa and Garlic Chicken Pizza

Here’s a recipe that we got from Our Fitness Friend Mark Brown who Owns MBS (Mind Body & Soul) Fitness!! Healthy Pizza–YEAH!!!

Flat out bread
Black bean / corn salsa
spinach
roasted red peppers
and garlic chicken

9pm:  Kids to bed and Off to the Gym

Second work out is abs and 30 min of Cardio.  This is Interval Training

for Optimum fat burning.  It’s where I warm up then bring my heart rate up for about 1-2 min.  Then I bring it back down for another two min.  I do this throughout the 30 min.  I can run/walk about 3 miles in the 30 min.  With this kind of training, I will burn fat for up to the following 36hours.

10:30pm:  Snack time…Again!

I have a thing for eating some Greek Yogurt before I go to bed.  It helps with the keeping hunger at bay throughout the night.  Higher levels of protein (NOT ISOLATE*) helps keep your muscles building throughout the night when your growth building hormones are released!

*Whey Isolate Protein is protein that is broken down and digested easily and quickly…this allows your muscles to get what they need to recover and rebuild quickly.  The quicker your muscle receive this, the quicker they recover…lets’ face what we REALLY want to hear…less pain!! 

11:30pm:  Bed Time and Water!!

Leave a Reply

