You Hurt me!! And You Want Me to Forgive you??


Forgiveness is Fitness!Here at Red Fox, we believe in 5 areas of fitness and we take them seriously.

Spiritual, Relational, Physical, Nutritional, & Mental

The High 5 starts with Spirituality…

This comes first for a reason.  We were created with an area inside of us that is quenched best by connecting to something much greater than us.  I believe in Jesus Christ.  He is my Lord and Saviour.  In fact, I’m not sure how to separate myself from this relationship that I have.  I was once asked to deny my faith in Jesus by a man who I adored.  He asked me to give it all up.  To him it was an intellectual thing and I could just let it go.  This man was from Ireland.  I thought about how to explain it the way he could understand.  I asked him if he could ever just stop being Irish and from Ireland…. It is in and throughout who he is.  So is my walk with God.  It’s not a religion.  Or Church.  Or a building that I attend on Sundays.  It is the lifeblood of who

Cross

I am.  My heart seeks after God.  I am not perfect nor have I arrived (nor will I ever arrive).  I continually mess up.  I sin (I once heard an explanation of sin as “Missing the Mark” from Steven Furdick @ Elevation Church. Beautifully put!).  We ALL do this “Missing the Mark” daily!!  We get tired, grumpy, walked on, forgotten and hurt.  Sometimes we are the one hurting others.  We do this without thinking sometimes and…we do it on purpose at other times!! We let our emotions just simply get the best of us!  I do it…you do it… it happens.  Personally, I know how awful I feel when I let my tongue go off like a race horse!! I’ve said and done some awful things!  Later…I regret most of it!

Winston Churchill Success is not final…

God…looks at our hearts.  He knows we get tired.  He knows we get worried and scared.  He knows we get hungry.  He knows even better than we do how our emotions can get the best of us!  I’m a Mom.  I have four children of my own and two step daughters.  When my kid were (are) younger, there are things that they do that I can excuse.  They break something by bumping it.  They don’t have total control over their bodies and move around way too quickly.  Oops.  Something I really liked gets caught up in their learning how to control themselves.  I can excuse it, because I know that they are still learning.  They didn’t mean to do it!  I, as their mother know their heart!  God sees us the same way.  He knows our maturity and ability to handle the situation.  He knows that we aren’t “all grown up yet” and can excuse us and forgive us and love us through our messes.

Now, just because I understand doesn’t mean that I look the other way.  There is still a lesson in the broken pieces.  What my child did was still wrong and needs to be addressed.  They need to help clean up the mess and apologize for their mistake.  I will smile and love on my child letting them know all is well AFTER they apologize and ask for forgiveness.  Just the same, we need to address what it is that we’ve done and ask for forgiveness from those we’ve stepped on or hurt.  It’s hard…but necessary not only for them, but for ourselves.  We need reconciliation in our relationships and in our walk with God himself!  Our Heart needs to feel at peace and one with Our True Source of strength!

It’s a rare moment when you come across someone who does this.  However, when we have been wronged, we are to be at the ready to forgive.  This process needs to happen long before it’s asked.  For me, it’s all about looking into the mirror.  I do the same dumb things that others do to me so how can I accuse them of being so awful when I go and do it too!!!???  It gives me the ability many times to understand the one who wronged me!

Red Fox Fitness Tulip…from our backyard!

A year or so back, I had someone tear me apart from limb-to-limb verbally.  This guy cussed and swore and called me some bitter names.  Had we been face-to-face I’m not so sure it wouldn’t have gone to blows.  It was bad!  He was doing some service work for me and didn’t do what I asked.  When I questioned him about it, he lost control of his tongue completely!!  Clearly, the venom coming out of his mouth was from way more than me questioning him.  However, I was in tears and angry and hurt all at the same time.  My husband stepped in the conversation taking the phone from me (because no one talks to his wife that way…period!! Good man!!), and the venom continued at him!! Needless to say, we had nothing good to say about that business.  I even avoided driving down that street for a long time so I wouldn’t have to be reminded of “That Man!”

It is finished! For more than what Jesus did on the cross! Allow Mistakes and hurts to be finished too! Yours and theirs!

This past Sunday I was in church like usual and a man come up to me with tears in his eyes asking me to forgive him.  All I could say was for what?  I didn’t know this man and I didn’t remember anyone wronging me.  As he explained who he was, I knew.  All I could think about doing was giving this poor man a hug letting him know it was all ok…especially now that he addressed it!  Water under the bridge!! It takes an honest and humble person to admit when they are wrong.  Clearly, he wanted to attend church (he was new there!) without having to think about what all happened over a year ago!  Chalk it up to a bad day, being way too hungry, stresses of life…whatever.  “We have all sinned and fallen short!”  Last time I checked…all…means all!

That reminds me…I have amends to make from my past as well!  Be sure to forgive and to ask for forgiveness…just see how much love is poored out within you.  Let go of those hurts…they are not worth holding onto.  They hold you back from following your heart and block the goodness from flowing through you!

With love,

~Pamela

Red Fox Fitness Pamela DeVrou Smith

One thought on “You Hurt me!! And You Want Me to Forgive you??”

Leave a Reply

