Proverbs – Get Some Wisdom!


Red Fox – Proverbs 9:10-12

The book of Proverbs in the Bible is in the old testament and comes right after that big, comforting book of Psalms!  Proverbs is a shorter book.  One that I learned a long time ago that you can read one chapter each day and get through it by the end of the month.  There are 31 Chapters!  It’s perfect!  I love Proverbs because it’s all about learning how and why!  It’s the perfect start to a day – getting my mind set on how I need to behave and act so that I can bring others up in their walk through life and to head me on a path of success!  I wanted to share with you what it is that I wrote many years ago in my well loved, torn to shreds, falling apart, can’t-throw-it-away Bible.

   “I’ve pondered over Proverbs since I was a little girl, I’ve prayed for wisdom.  To know what my Father in heaven knows, to think like Him.  To see with my Fathers eyes the hearts of others.  I’ve searched for the answer as to ‘why’ my whole life…  Wisdom starts with obedience unto the Lord, and is followed through with discipline.  Neither of those things can begin in our lives without the fear of the Lord.  (Fear – The thought that my actions would disappoint or hurt another or get me into some sort of trouble which in turn, stops me from doing that act or behavior…) To fear is to not want the punishment that would come from the behavior or to not want to break God’s heart (disappoint) over my sin (missing the mark).” 

Poverbs 9:10-12

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.  For through me (wisdom and knowledge) your days will be many, and years will be added to your life.  If you are wise, your wisdom will reward you; if you are a mocker, you alone will suffer.”  

When we gain wisdom and understanding we gain the ability to grasp our own hearts and how they were created.  We gain the ability to think through situations that we don’t like and appreciate them anyway.  We develop character (in time) that leads us to patiently wait and diligently work toward our goals.  We start to understand the heart of God and how He purposes life together.  He gives us instruction in every area of our lives…why wouldn’t we want such knowledge??!!  My heart aches at times to know all the why’s in life!!  I have had so much “junk” happen to me!  When I’ve gone down, it’s been in such monumental ways that most stand in utter disbelief…  Let’s put it this way…I relate very much with Job (the wealthy, prosperous man in the old testament who lost it all!! …and suffered greatly!).  However, the Bible talks about understanding God’s heart and knowing why He purposes things the way He does!  He has a plan…for me…and for you!  It’s NOT to beat ourselves up and to cut others down!  No Way!! It’s to learn compassion and patience and to gain understanding.

I believe that I’ve gone through so much so that I can help others with first-hand knowledge of how it feels to be so darn defeated!!  To get knocked down over and over and over and to get back up no matter what; To stand tall in the midst of accusations and trials is something I know full-well.  When we go through “stuff” the purpose is to help (encourage, strengthen) someone else who is going through it as well!  It’s never to hide or be ashamed.  Some of the troubles in my life have come from my own sin (falling short or missing the mark – missing the standard that God has set for me and for my good.  He was trying to protect me, but I blew it!).  Even through that, I can be secure knowing that God loves me regardless!!  People might not…but God does and I can be forgiven no matter what I’ve done.  God can make it right and use it for good in my life or in someone else’s life!  We all (last time I checked all meant all…) have missed the mark, blew the standard, and sinned. There isn’t one sin that is better than another in God’s eyes…Even the “smallest one” keeps us from entering heaven if we are not forgiven!

Understanding what God did for us is the beginning of wisdom

The good news…WE CAN  be forgiven and stand tall again knowing that God loved us enough to pay for those mess ups and loves us enough to make something beautiful out of our lives!! All with His grace and love…  It’s humbling to admit or talk openly about what it is that we do wrong!  But God will never drop us (Our friends may be another story…we’ll make new ones!!) he will never walk away from us…NEVER!!  Knowing this fact…starts our journey to wisdom!

If you want to gain more wisdom and understanding of how life really works, start in the book of Proverbs!!  Pray for wisdom and understanding and read what it is that God has to say on the subject!!  He is NOT silent that’s for sure! Read one chapter each day and circle the verses that stand out to you!!  It’s funny to me that no matter how many times I go through this one little book, I find something knew that speaks to me!  My life ebbs and flows and different verses mean more at different times in my life!  Go through it and read it searching for wisdom…you’ll find it!!  God promises!! 🙂

~Pamela

Pamela “Red Fox” Smith
4 thoughts on “Proverbs – Get Some Wisdom!”

Leave a Reply

