9/11 Remembered


ImageI can’t tell you enough how 9/11 gripped my heart!  As maybe we all do, I remember the day…the moment…even the smell in the air as the newscaster went on and on-all of it seemed surreal.  I had a new baby boy and it was my brother-in-laws wedding.  We had been having such a great week celebrating with the family.  We were “Up North” (remote Traverse City area) visiting at the time.  Our kids were young and playing wondering why Mommy was crying so hard and why all the adults were glued to the TV in such shock!  

I wasn’t there…but felt so much pain for all those who were!  Story after story came out…tragedy after tragedy…family lost…our country lost…it was an awful day in our history!  We were attacked!  Ruthlessly!  

Patriotism runs deep within my family!  “Stand proud of who you are and where you come from!”  “Be proud of your name!”  This holds true for being an American Citizen!  I’m proud of our country…for the men and women who have fought for our rights and our freedoms!  For our RIGHT to believe in God “In God we trust” for the right to practice our beliefs…our beliefs in Jesus Christ.  The pilgrims were persecuted and told that they couldn’t practice out their faith…so they came here to the colonies.  I’m proud of our history. The Rock on which our country stands.  The Freedoms and the privilege to be responsible with them!  That does not mean to run “willy-nilly” as my Dad would’ve said and do whatever we want!  No.  We have to respect ourselves and those around us!  Too many think that respect others means to allow anyone to say and do whatever they want around us!  

9/11 goes back so much further than our country….it goes back to a fundamental difference…a difference in core values and beliefs. We became vulnerable…and still are!  More so even today than during 9/11.  We are rolling over and allowing any and all to say and do what they feel like at the time so we don’t “Offend”  That is NOT what God teaches.  If we don’t stand firm in our convictions (with respect toward other people…yes…but firm!)…who will??  

I am a person…we are a country…that believes in “God we trust”.  It’s how we were founded.  I make no apologies and excuses for that!  I will honor you as a person even if you don’t believe in God.  I may even be sorry that you are upset with my convictions…but I stand firm in who I am and how I believe.  It’s no different than I make no apologies for being a woman or for being a red head.  It’s who I am.  

God’s word says “Let your no be no and your yes, yes.”  Stand firm.  With love.  It’s the hardest thing to do!  

I understand  how difficult this is!  I have been attacked in the past not because of something that I’ve done…but because of WHO I AM!  The values that I profess were tested over and over.  My life literally was threatened because the person on the other side didn’t like me as a person…my values and my convictions.  It’s an awful position to have someone look at you with hatred because of WHO you are!  

My heart aches…always for the victims and families of 9/11.  I am so sorry for the loss.  I can’t imagine what it feels like!  May we as a country learn form our past and stand firm in our convictions…with love…not rolling over and pretending that we are not who we are!!   But by being proud and standing firm in our values and convictions before, during and after…always!  

May all those that died in 9/11 rest in peace and may their family and friends heal from the loss.  May we as a country continue to honor and respect them…and ourselves as a country-without apology!  

 

With Love and Honor,

 

~Pamela

One thought on “9/11 Remembered”

  1. It will be a day I’ll never forget I was working at Ballys I New york at the time! And Today 9/11 falls on a Tuesday on a clear crisp fall morning the same as that day really eerie!

Leave a Reply

